Alex Rodriguez Apologizes to the Fans

If my memory serves me correctly, it’s been over a year since I last wrote a blog post focused on Alex Rodriguez. I’ve discussed him a bit in portions of posts over the past few months about the Yankees and their surrounding team, but nothing just about him. That was mainly because he was out of the baseball picture for that period of time, serving a 162-game suspension for further use of performance enhancing drugs, but quite simply, I didn’t care to discuss Rodriguez at all anyway. Alex  Rodriguez

That, however, has changed.

With a letter released on Tuesday, A-Rod once again shook up the baseball world. Although it was meant to be a positive thing, not a lot of people are taking it that way. The handwritten letter itself read as follows:

To the Fans,

I take full responsibility for the mistakes that led to my suspension for the 2014 season. I regret that my actions made the situation worse than it needed to be. To Major League Baseball, the Yankees, the Steinbrenner family, the Players Association and you, the fans, I can only say I’m sorry.

I accept the fact that many of you will not believe my apology or anything that I say at this point. I understand why and that’s on me. It was gracious of the Yankees to offer me the use of Yankee Stadium for this apology, but I decided that next time I am in Yankee Stadium, I should be in pinstripes doing my job.

I served the longest suspension in the history of the league for PED use. The Commissioner has said the matter is over. The Players Association has said the same. The Yankees have said the next step is to play baseball.

I’m ready to put this chapter behind me and play some ball.

This game has been my single biggest passion since I was a teenager. When I go to Spring Training, I will do everything I can to be the best player and teammate possible, earn a spot on the Yankees and help us win.

Sincerely,
Alex

The first thing that jumps out at me from the letter is A-Rod’s acceptance that baseball fans will likely never forgive him. That’s important, in my opinion, because he understands that he doesn’t need to put on a show to win back the fans — there’s no point. In his own words, he just needs to “play some ball”.

However, with that said, I would like to see A-Rod do a little something to give back to the fans; not with the hopes of winning them back, but just because it’s the right thing to do after all Rodriguez has done. Take pictures with the fans; sign autographs for those who still want it. Rodriguez needs to do something to show that he actually cares and that the letter wasn’t just a formality, even knowing it won’t do a lot of good. He owes the fans that much.

But one little apology letter and a lot of fan friendliness won’t matter much if A-Rod isn’t producing for the team at the plate. In the end, now that they’re stuck with him, the Yankees and their fans have to root for Rodriguez to put up good numbers. Not so he can further add to his tainted career stats, but so he can help the Yankees regain a competitive ball club. In my mind, they need some sort of impact from A-Rod for the Yankees to stand a chance at a playoff push.

Without Derek Jeter on the team, like it or not, Rodriguez has become the face of the team. Maybe not the most popular player, but the most well known player on the club. The Yankees are looking to him to help carry a good chunk of the team, even if it does mean that six home runs this season would earn him a 6 million dollar bonus — on top of the huge amount still remaining on his contract — for tying Willie Mays’ career mark of 660 home runs (Rodriguez would also earn $6 million each for tying Babe Ruth (714), tying Hank Aaron (755), tying Barry Bonds (762) and surpassing Bonds down the line).

Even so, I’m not expecting him to do much. Rodriguez is now 39 years old. He hit just .244 in 2013 over the course of 44 games leading up to his season long suspension in 2014, and has been going downhill since 2010 — the last year he hit 30+ home runs and/or 100+ RBI’s. A-Rod hasn’t hit .300 since 2008, and he seemingly won’t do hardly anything in 2015.

Supposedly, though, Alex Rodriguez has been working out and is in the best baseball shape he’s been in for years. Supposedly, he is sorry for his actions (or at least as sorry as he can bring himself to be). But then again, he was supposedly done for good with performance enhancing drugs back when he came clean in 2009.

I’ll leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

