Five Year Anniversary of ‘The Unbiased MLB Fan’

The older I get, the faster time seems to move. That’s certainly been the case with this blog, as time has truly flown by over its history. With today being January 20, 2016, I’ve officially been blogging for five full years, which equates to roughly a fourth of my life. Never in a million years did I think I would be blogging for this long.

With this being such a landmark date, I figured I would use it to recap some of the highlights of the history of this blog (a walk down blogging memory lane, if you will). I’ll cover every year of existence, but focus primarily on just the past year of writing.

Year one of this blog was fairly rough, if I may be so blunt. My writing was subpar to say the least, and I was merely writing about random things that had little to do with what was going on around the baseball world at the time. But I feel that year was simply a launching pad for what would become a true outlet for my baseball opinions.

In 2012, the first major experience to come out of this blog occured. In July of that year, I received an all-expense paid trip from State Farm to the 2012 MLB Home Run Derby in Kansas City with my grandpa. It was a fantastic time, and will likely be the best thing to ever come out of my time blogging.

The following year, I feel my writing took off in terms of quality. That was the first year I began to focus on conducting thought out interviews with various players from around baseball, as well as the year that my writing as a whole truly improved. While things still aren’t perfect, I feel that my writing has grown tremendously over the course of this blog.

2014 saw me attending the Triple-A Home Run Derby and All-Star game as the highlights of the year, but it was also a good year as a whole. There were a tons of amazing things that occurred around the baseball world, making it a terrific year of blogging — and the one in which I received the most total views. But this past year was a great year as well, and is the time frame that I’ll focus on more specifically.

Back in April, I was lucky enough to be able to attend an exhibition game in Greensboro, NC, between the Grasshoppers and the Miami Marlins. While things didn’t go as planned autograph wise, I was still able to see Giancarlo Stanton hit some absolute bombs during batting practice in person as well as Ichiro Suzuki for what may wind up being the last time. So it was an enjoyable experience, nonetheless.

Once again this past season, I spent dozens of hours out at local minor league ballparks racking up autographs from some of the game’s best up and coming stars. As I’ve done for the past three years, I recapped it all in a post where I discussed each game in detail. That’s always one of the posts that I have the most fun putting together.

Other posts that stand out in my mind from the 2015 baseball and blogging season were the posts I wrote on David Ortiz hitting his 500th homer, Bryce Harper breaking out into a true superstar, and the posts I wrote on the Cubs finally making a playoff push. All signs point towards me having a lot more to write about them all in 2016.

It remains to be seen whether or not I’ll still be blogging long enough to post a six year blogging anniversary post a year from today, but I’m not completely ruling it out. As I’ve stated, I wasn’t even planning on keeping my blog into the new year, but I changed my mind about that. Who knows where I’ll be or what I’ll be doing a full year from now. All I know is that I’m here for this season and I’m going to try to make it a fantastic year of blogging. I hope you all will continue to come along for the ride as you have for the past 1,286 days.

‘The Unbiased MLB Fan’ Fast Facts

  • Total number of words written to this point: 352,713
  • Total number of posts: 554
  • Average number of words per post: 634

 

Leave a Reply

