2015 MLB Standings Prediction Update

Friday kicked off the first day of games around Major League Baseball following the All-Star break, and so begins the endless predictions of which teams will make it into October.

Back in March, I made predictions of my own as to where each team would wind up finishing the year. And while there are still a lot of games left in which anything can happen, the standings are taking shape more and more as each day goes by.

With that in mind, I thought I’d take the time to briefly go over the predictions I made four months ago and see how well they were panning out.

Beginning in the American League, I was banking on the Red Sox winning the division, with the Yankees finishing a mid-pack third. Instead, the Yankees are having a great season and the Red Sox are in the cellar. Drastically different than I would’ve ever imagined. In the Central, the Twins of all teams are holding a second place slot in front of the Tigers, which is truly remarkable. With the team they have, I never could’ve predicted anything like that from them, but they are amazing a lot of people. Finally, in the AL West, the Mariners are disappointing to say the least, with the Astros stunning people with how well they are performing. There’s still time left for the tables to turn, but things are certainly interesting to this point.

As far as the National League is concerned, things aren’t quite as crazy there.

In the East, the standings aren’t too far off from what I originally guessed, with the Nationals leading the way, but the rest of the division is a bit shaken up from what I predicted. The Central is actually very close at the moment to what I projected, with just the Cubs and Pirates having their slot swapped. The last division, the National League West, is more of the same, with most of the teams right where I placed them, with the exception of the Diamondbacks and Padres, who are flipped for one another in the standings.

But as I said, there is plenty of time left. Anything can happen.

Leave a Reply

